Safari Books Online's Official Blog

By Liza Daly, Vice-President of Engineering at Safari Books Online

IBM DeveloperWorks has posted my article on designing ebooks in the latest version of the open standard for ebooks, EPUB 3: Create rich-layout publications in EPUB 3 with HTML5, CSS3, and MathML.

Summary: EPUB 3.0, which is the latest revision of the industry-standard XML e-book format, jumps into modern web technology by embracing HTML5 and CSS3. It retains its focus on XML-driven toolkits by requiring XHTML serialization and adding supplementary XML vocabularies, such as MathML and SVG. EPUB 3 offers a variety of options for developing advanced, digital-native publications. In this article, learn to create rich-layout pages using some new features in EPUB 3.

Some implementation details not included in the post:

  • While a MathML example is shown running in iBooks, iBooks doesn’t yet fully support all or even most of MathML. Originally I had assumed this was a…

View original post 552 more words

82 thoughts on “

  1. I am taking the Internet seriously now. I am retired and can dive into it. There is quite a rich diversity of information in blogs so I am getting involved and commenting. I think I really appreciate the basics of what you have here in this blog. I have started my own blog and website. In the text boxes I have entered my email address and my website URL. Is this acceptable? I hope this is allright. TheVeryBest2You 13 10

  2. I am exploring the Internet as I never have before. I have more time since I reitred. There are a lot of topics on the Internet and I am reading on many of those and commenting. You have made your blog more interesting than most that I read. Thanks for that. I am approaching this from all sides, sonce I recently started my own website with its own blog. My email and site are included with this post. It seems to be customary to include these so I hope that its ok with you. TheVeryBest2You 13 12

  3. Thanks for an unbelievable publish, would examine your others reviews. many thanks for your ideas within this, I felt somewhat thump by this post. Many thanks again! You make a great moment. Has wonderful facts here. I feel that if more individuals consideration for it like this, they’d have got a better moment in time get the hold ofing the situation.

  4. I appreciate a tremendous put up, may examine your personal others topics. i appreciate your thoughts within this, I felt a bit made an impact to by this article. Thanks again! You make a great time. Has fantastic report here. I do think that if more people consideration for it that way, they’d have got a better time period get the suspend ofing the situation.

  5. Many thanks for an unbelievable publish, will study your particular others posts. i appreciate your ideas with this, I felt a lttle bit thump by this post. Thanks again again! You wanna make a terrific point. Displays the beauty through wonderful report here. I believe if more individuals thought about it doing this, they’d have a very better time receive the hang ofing the situation.

  6. I am exploring the Internet as I never have before. I have more time since I reitred. I am reading blogs on many topics, and commenting too. I think that you have to put some attention on a blog to bring it above the dry and boring verbage that is common, and you have definitely accomplished that. I am the proud owner of my own website and blog and i get ideas from blogs such as yours. Thank-you. I have incuded a website and email address. I think it is ok that I incuded them since there seems to be a place to do that. Hope so anyway. TheVeryBest2You 13 9

  7. I am taking the Internet seriously now. I am retired and can dive into it. I can see that there is a rich diversity in the blogs I am reading and I am trying to leave some comment whereever I visit. I don’t understand everything that is in all the blogs that I read, but I like your presentation here in this blog. Well you know I have my own blog and website now. It is fun, to be sure. I have incuded a website and email address. I hope you approve that I did this. It seems to be customary so I went ahead with it. TheVeryBest2You 13 10

  8. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this web site. I am hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

  9. Very efficiently written article. It will be useful to anybody who usess it, as well as yours truly :). Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  10. Thanks for an unbelievable put up, may read your particular others posts. many thanks for your ideas on this, I felt somewhat strike by this text. Merit again! You make a good moment. Portrays natures best by the great report here. I feel if more people thought of it like this, they’d have got a better time period have the suspend ofing the issue.

  11. I used to be very pleased to search out this internet-site.I needed to thanks on your time for this glorious learn!! I undoubtedly having fun with every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  12. I appreciate a tremendous put up, may examine your personal others topics. i appreciate your thoughts within this, I felt a bit made an impact to by this article. Thanks again! You make a great time. Has fantastic report here. I do think that if more people consideration for it that way, they’d have got a better time period get the suspend ofing the situation.

  13. Many thanks for an unbelievable submit, would study your personal others topics. thank you your thinking within this, I soon became a bit strike by this post. Thanks again! You wanna make a good point. Portrays natures best by the wonderful facts here. I do think that in case more individuals consideration for it like this, they’d have a better moment in time obtain the hold ofing the issue.

  14. I am also writing to make you know what a wonderful discovery my friend’s girl experienced reading your site. She came to understand many things, which include what it is like to possess an awesome giving spirit to let many others with no trouble comprehend a number of grueling matters. You truly surpassed readers’ desires. I appreciate you for rendering the beneficial, trusted, informative not to mention cool tips about that topic to Janet.

  15. I was very pleased to search out this web-site.I needed to thanks for your time for this glorious read!! I positively enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

  16. There are some attention-grabbing deadlines in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There may be some validity but I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  17. I simply want to say I am just very new to blogging and truly savored you’re web page. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with remarkable well written articles. Kudos for revealing your webpage.

  18. I simply want to tell you that I am newbie to weblog and seriously liked your page. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You surely come with wonderful writings. Thank you for revealing your website.

  19. I simply want to mention I am new to blogs and truly savored you’re web page. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with fantastic article content. Kudos for sharing with us your web site.

  20. I just want to say I am very new to blogs and honestly loved your blog site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You actually have exceptional writings. Many thanks for sharing with us your web site.

  21. I just want to mention I’m all new to blogging and site-building and absolutely loved this blog site. Probably I’m want to bookmark your site . You absolutely have really good article content. With thanks for sharing with us your blog.

  22. I just want to mention I’m new to weblog and really liked you’re web site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually come with incredible well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your webpage.

  23. I like the helpful info you supply to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and test once more right here frequently. I’m quite certain I will be informed many new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the following!

  24. I discovered your blog website on google and verify a couple of of your early posts. Continue to keep up the superb operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking ahead to reading more from you afterward!…

  25. Discovered your write-up really intriguing in fact. I genuinely appreciated browsing it and you also make quite some superior points. I’ll bookmark this website for the future! Relly good write-up.

  26. Found your short article incredibly interesting in truth. I really liked reading through it so you make pretty some fantastic factors. I am going to bookmark this web-site for that foreseeable future! Relly wonderful short article.

  27. Discovered your post really exciting without a doubt. I genuinely enjoyed browsing it therefore you make rather some excellent factors. I am going to bookmark this website for that future! Relly terrific article.

  28. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  29. Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  30. I found your weblog site on google and verify just a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the excellent operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Looking for forward to reading extra from you later on!…

  31. Great info and right to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to employ some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  32. Located your write-up extremely intriguing indeed. I truly experienced looking at it and you make very some fantastic points. I will bookmark this web-site for the long term! Relly great post.

  33. Observed your content extremely appealing certainly. I seriously really enjoyed reading it and you make quite some fantastic factors. I am going to bookmark this site for your long term! Relly terrific post.

  34. Identified your short article incredibly remarkable in truth. I seriously experienced browsing it and you simply make quite some excellent points. I’ll bookmark this web site with the long run! Relly terrific write-up.

  35. Located your article pretty interesting certainly. I truly liked browsing it and you make pretty some superior factors. I am going to bookmark this web-site for the upcoming! Relly wonderful report.

  36. Found your content incredibly interesting in truth. I actually loved studying it so you make rather some fantastic details. I will bookmark this site for that future! Relly wonderful article.

  37. Uncovered your content really appealing certainly. I really appreciated studying it and you make fairly some very good points. I will bookmark this internet site with the long term! Relly wonderful report.

  38. Located your post very appealing in fact. I actually liked reading through it and also you make really some superior details. I am going to bookmark this web-site for the upcoming! Relly good post.

  39. Found your write-up pretty fascinating in fact. I actually appreciated reading through it therefore you make fairly some fantastic details. I’ll bookmark this web page for that long run! Relly great write-up.

  40. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the future. I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a nice evening!

  41. Observed your report pretty intriguing without a doubt. I actually really enjoyed looking at it and you simply make fairly some great factors. I’ll bookmark this web site with the long term! Relly great content.

  42. Uncovered your short article pretty fascinating certainly. I definitely experienced studying it and you simply make really some great points. I’ll bookmark this site for that foreseeable future! Relly wonderful post.

  43. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  44. The very next time I read a blog, I hope that it does not disappoint me just as much as this one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, but I genuinely believed you would have something helpful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you could fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.

  45. Observed your short article quite interesting in fact. I seriously enjoyed reading it therefore you make really some great details. I will bookmark this web-site for the foreseeable future! Relly great article.

  46. Identified your post really exciting in truth. I seriously liked reading through it so you make pretty some great details. I am going to bookmark this web-site for the long term! Relly great post.

  47. Located your report pretty intriguing indeed. I seriously enjoyed browsing it therefore you make quite some great details. I’ll bookmark this website for your potential! Relly terrific post.

  48. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  49. Greetings! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  50. Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog and in depth information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  51. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  52. Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  53. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!

  54. Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

  55. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog visitors have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?

Leave a Reply

